Faculty by Alpha

Megan Andrew

Megan Andrew

Assistant Professor; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Educational Initiatives

1018 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-3616
mandrew6@nd.edu
Research Interests: Sociology of education, social stratification, methods, social psychology, intergenerational transmission of education, and post-secondary educational careers.

Mark Berends

Mark Berends

Professor; Director, Center for Research on Educational Opportunity (CREO); Faculty Fellow, Institute for Educational Initiatives

1014 Flanner
(574) 631-0195
Berends.3@nd.edu
Research Interests: Sociology of Education, Educational Policy and Research Methods

Kraig Beyerlein

Kraig Beyerlein

Associate Professor; Associate Director, Center for the Study of Religion and Society; Faculty Fellow in the Center for the Study of Social Movements, Institute for Latino Studies and Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies

817 Flanner
(574) 631-8517
kbeyerl1@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Sociology of Religion, Social Movements/Collective Behavior, Civil Engagement/Social Capital, Quantitative Methods, Social Networks, Sociology of Culture

Jorge Bustamante

Jorge Bustamante

Eugene P. and Helen Conley Professor

104 Hesburgh Center
(574) 631-3820
Jorge.A.Bustamante.1@nd.edu
Research Interests: International Migration; Mexican American Studies

William Carbonaro

William Carbonaro

Associate Professor; Assistant Director, Center for Research on Educational Opportunities; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Educational Initiatives

1016 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-3633
wcarbona@nd.edu
Research Interests: Sociology of Education, Social Stratification, Research Methods and Statistics

Gilberto Cardenas

Gilberto Cardenas

Professor; Executive Director of the Notre Dame Center for Arts and Culture

M230 McKenna Hall
(574) 631-3819
Gilberto.Cardenas.7@nd.edu
Research Interests: Immigration; Race and Ethnic Relations; Historical and Comparative Sociology; Visual Sociology

Kevin Christiano

Kevin Christiano

Associate Professor

443 Decio Faculty Hall
(574) 631-7371 / 631-6463 (Messages)
Kevin.J.Christiano.1@nd.edu
Research Interests: Sociology of Religion; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Sociology of Culture; Canadian Society and Politics.

Jessica Collett

Jessica Collett

Associate Professor; Faculty Fellow at the Kroc Institute for Peace Studies

738 Flanner
(574) 631-5076
jlcollett@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Social Psychology, Social Inequality, Family & Childhood, Research Methods, Religion

Russell Faeges

Russell Faeges

Adjunct Instructor

833 Flanner
(574) 631-8739
Russell.S.Faeges.4@nd.edu
Research Interests: Theory; political sociology (especially state-seeking/nationalism); qualitative methodology (especially the crafting and use of definitions in empirical research).

David Gibson

David Gibson

Associate Professor

736 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-4285
dgibson1@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Social interaction, language, deliberation, decision making, social networks, theory, secrecy & deception.

Mark Gunty

Mark Gunty

Concurrent Assistant Professor; Assistant Director of Institutional Research; Undergraduate Analytics Program Director

406D Grace Hall
(574) 631-9472
Mark.L.Gunty.4@nd.edu
Research Interests: Assessment in higher education, social responsibility, social construction of masculinity

David Hachen

David Hachen

Associate Professor and Co-Director of the Interdisciplinary Center for Network Science and Applications (iCeNSA)

747 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-5745
David.S.Hachen.1@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Social networks, labor markets, social stratification & mobility, organizations, work and occupations, and research methods and statistics.

Eugene Halton

Eugene Halton

Professor

166 Decio Faculty Hall
(574) 631-7140
Eugene.W.Halton.2@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Social Theory; Public Life in America; Cultural Studies; Consumption Studies

Jennifer Jones

Jennifer Jones

Assistant Professor; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Latino Studies

749 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-3224
jjones23@nd.edu
Research Interests: Racial formation, racial and ethnic relations, immigration, political sociology, Latino Studies, Latin America and the Caribbean, and qualitative methods.

Tamara Kay

Tamara Kay

Associate Professor of Global Affairs and Sociology

100 Hesburgh Center for International Studies
tkay@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Global and transnational sociology; sociology of culture; political sociology; organizations; social movements

Mary Ellen Konieczny

Mary Ellen Konieczny

Associate Professor; Faculty Fellow of the Center for the Study of Religion and Society; Henkels Family Collegiate Chair

815 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-2781
MaryEllen.Konieczny.1@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Religion, Culture, Social Theory, Family, Political Sociology

Amy Langenkamp

Amy Langenkamp

Assistant Professor

1019 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-3611
alangenk@nd.edu
Research Interests: Education, Race/ethnicity, Immigration, Life course transitions, Adolescent health and development

Miao Li

Miao Li

Post-Doctoral Fellow

819 Flanner Hall
574-631-0804
mli13@nd.edu
Research Interests: Medical Sociology, Life Course, Child/Adolescent Development, Religion, Research Methods.

Omar Lizardo

Omar Lizardo

Professor; Faculty Fellow, at the Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies and at the Nanovic Institute for European Studies

735 Flanner
(574) 631-1855
olizardo@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Sociological theory, sociology of culture, sociology of organizations, network theory, microsociology, world-systems analysis and the philosophy of social science

Elizabeth McClintock

Elizabeth McClintock

Assistant Professor

740 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-5218
emcclint@nd.edu
Research Interests: Gender, Family, and Sexuality; Quantitative Methods; Interpersonal Relationships; Romantic Partner Selection; Race, Segregation, and Homophily; Body-Image; Aging and Older-Age Dating

Erin McDonnell

Erin McDonnell

Kellogg Assistant Professor

744 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-2578
erin.mcdonnell@nd.edu
Research Interests: Governance, state administration, international comparative sociology, development, elite migration, and classical social theory

Terence McDonnell

Terence McDonnell

Kellogg Assistant Professor; Concurrent faculty, Keough School of Global Affairs

742 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-7599
tmcdonn2@nd.edu
Research Interests: Culture and Media, Health and AIDS, Social Movements, Gender and Sexuality , Urban Studies, Theory, Methods

Rory McVeigh

Rory McVeigh

Professor; Director, Center for the Study of Social Movements

739 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-0386
Rory.M.McVeigh.3@nd.edu
Research Interests: Inequality, social movements, political sociology, race and ethnicity

Ann Mische

Ann Mische

Associate Professor of Sociology and Peace Studies; Faculty Fellow of the Kellogg Institute for International Affairs

111 Hesburgh Center
(574) 631-7760
Ann.E.Mische.2@nd.edu
Research Interests: Sociology of culture, social movements, political sociology, social networks, organizations, deliberation and decision - making, sociological theory , peace and conflict studies

Sarah Mustillo

Sarah Mustillo

Professor and Department Chair

819 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-0414
smustill@nd.edu
Research Interests: Health, Statistics, Children and Youth, Social Psychology, Gender and Family

Abigail  Ocobock

Abigail Ocobock

Post-Doctoral Fellow

574-631-6463
Abigail.R.Ocobock.2@nd.edu
Research Interests: Family sociology, Gender, Sexualities, Institutional sociology

Atalia Omer

Atalia Omer

Concurrent Associate Professor

303 Hesburgh Center
(574) 631-7121
Atalia.Omer.3@nd.edu
Website

David Sikkink

David Sikkink

Associate Professor; Faculty Fellow in the Center for the Study of Religion and Society and the Institute for Educational Initiatives

814 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-2736
David.Sikkink.1@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Education, Religion, Political, Methods and Statistics

Christian Smith

Christian Smith

Director of the Center for Social Research, the William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor, and the Director of the Center for the Study of Religion and Society

816 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-4531
Chris.Smith@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Sociology of Religion, Social Theory, Cultural Sociology, Adolescence

Lynette Spillman

Lynette Spillman

Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

737 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-8067
Lynette.P.Spillman.1@nd.edu
Research Interests: Cultural Sociology, Economic Sociology, Social Theory, Comparative Historical Sociology, Qualitative Methods, Political Sociology.

Jason Springs

Jason Springs

Concurrent Associate Professor

305 Hesburgh Center
(574) 631-0931
jspring1@nd.edu
Website

Erika Summers-Effler

Erika Summers-Effler

Associate Professor

748 Flanner
(574) 631-3838
erika.m.effler.1@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Theory, social movements, qualitative methods

Mim Thomas

Mim Thomas

Adjunct Assistant Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

810 Flanner
(574) 631-6463
mim.t.thomas.213@nd.edu
Research Interests: Social Networks, Historical Sociology, Social Movements

J. Samuel Valenzuela

J. Samuel Valenzuela

Kellogg Professor

210 Hesburgh Center
(574) 631-6410
J.S.Valenzuela.1@nd.edu
Research Interests: Political, Comparative Historical, Development, and Theory

Robert Vargas

Robert Vargas

Assistant Professor; Faculty Affiliate, Institute for Latino Studies

rvargas2@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Crime Law and Deviance, Mixed Methods

Andrew Weigert

Andrew Weigert

Professor

746 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-7408
Andrew.J.Weigert.1@nd.edu
Research Interests: Social Psychology

Michael Welch

Michael Welch

Professor

745 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-5081
Michael.R.Welch.1@nd.edu
Research Interests: Social Psychology, Social Control Processes, Research Methodology

Richard Williams

Richard Williams

Associate Professor

741 Flanner Hall
(574) 631-6668
Richard.A.Williams.5@nd.edu
Website
Research Interests: Methods and Statistics; Demography; Urban Sociology; Social Psychology